Members Statements – Caring Nurse Award

February 28, 2013

“Thank you Mr. Speaker.

An anonymous author once said: “Save one life, you’re a hero. Save 100 lives, you’re a nurse.”

I stand today to recognize the hard work and dedication of nurses in Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound and indeed all nurses across Canada. A number of nurses in Bruce and Grey counties were awarded the Caring Nurse Award from the Bayshore’s Healthy Tomorrows Association.

Recipients are nurses who are nominated by their fellow community members and who merit being recognized for outstanding work in their community. I extend my sincere congratulations and thanks to:

Ann Thompson, Leanne Edwards, Jennifer Cowan, Garry O’Toole, Bobbie Jackson, Robyn Hewson, Kari Johnson, Pauline Linton, Shelly Dolson, Kim Calverley, Mamie De Groot, Kory Whitlow, Shirley McCarthy, Margaret Thompson, Pauline Wyville, and Joan Stephenson, on receiving this award.

Mr. Speaker, nurses are a vital link between patients and families and it is great to see that a spotlight is being put on nurses.

Congratulations to all for this well-deserved recognition and thank you to all nurses for your outstanding work.”