Government Jurisdictions

There are three levels of government in Canada that manage and administer public programs and services. Please refer to the following chart for general areas of authority for each level of government:


Federal Government:

  • Canada Revenue Agency (Income Tax)
  • Citizenship and Immigration
  • Passports
  • Social Insurance Number
  • National Defence
  • Veterans Issues
  • Canada Post
  • Employment Insurance
  • Canada Pension Plan
  • Old Age Security
  • The Supreme Court
  • Charter of Rights and Freedoms



Provincial Government:

  • Health Insurance
  • Medicare
  • Social Assistance
  • Drivers Licences
  • Birth Certificates
  • Policing
  • Land Registry
  • Hunting and Freshwater Fishing Licences
  • Consumer Complaints
  • Workplace Safety
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • Provincial Courts
  • Business Licences
  • Provincial Parks



Municipal Government:

  • Land Development and City Planning
  • Road Bylaw and Maintenance
  • Property Taxes
  • Noise Bylaws
  • Local Parks
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Local Recreation Facilities and Fields
  • Snow Removal
  • Community Policing


Please see the “Frequently Requested Government Contacts” page on my website for more details and contact information for various programs and services offered by the Federal Government.